Get Your Racing Knowledge Up to Scratch for a New Year of Races

There are thousands of horses in training around the world mostly affiliated with racing because of their ‘ancestry’, birth, or siblings. The idea is that, if one horse can race, all others can too. However, while that may be slightly inaccurate for several health and personality reasons, there’s also the fact that not all horses have the same abilities.

It would be unfair to group all racehorses in the same category, and equally unfair not to create other racing events to suit the age, strength, and unique abilities of each horse. These different abilities are what have formed the classification of horse races as we know them. So, without further ado, let’s help you get your racing knowledge up to scratch for a new year of races.

1. Jump Races

Jump races allow horses aged three and above to compete in the various divisions of races also known as National Hunt racing, there are some famous events in this category and is a popular choice for betting and is enjoyable for any level bettor thanks to Grand National or  Cheltenham tips or any other online guides for the popular races. These categories include:

National Hunt Flat Races:

Only horses that are bred and trained for jump racing can participate in these ‘preparatory races’. There are actually no obstacles included in this race, it’s more like a stepping-stone race for more advanced hurdle and obstacle races. They are classified into three major grades;

Grade 1: these are the top-tier championship races where the horse’s age and sex determine the weight he/she carries.

Grade 2: In grade two races, age and sex equally determine the weight a racehorse will carry, however, the number of races they have competed in is also considered.

Grade 3: In grade 3 races, it’s the racehorses handicap ratings that determine the weight it carries during each race

2. Handicap Races

Most horses go through handicap races before receiving an official rating. This rating either increases or decreases based on how well each horse performs after every race. Plus, each racehorse is allotted weights depending on their rating, which also determines if they are qualified or overqualified to race in handicap events.

3. Flat Races.

  • Classic races.

These flat races are very prestigious and popular across Britain, and not just any horse can compete in this category. From when they are born, horses are bred to compete in these races, and can only compete at the age of three. There are different types of classic races which include:

The 2,000 Guineas: It’s a one-mile-long race for three-year-old race colts.

1,000 Guineas: it’s a one-mile-race for three-year-old fillies.

Oaks: This race is run at the Epsom racecourse and usually takes place in June.

Derby: the Derby is also run at the Epsom racecourse.

St. Leger: the St. Leger races take place at the Doncaster course in September.

  • Group Races.

Group races are top tier races divided into three main categories.

Group 1 Races: the group one races test out the best of the best racing horses. Depending on the age or gender of the horses, there are certain conditions that have to be met to separate talent from effort. These races are more international and top-tier than group two and three levels.

Group 2 races: Group two races also feature important international races, however, they aren’t as prominent as group 1 races.

Group 3 races:  Group three races don’t really include international races, but more important domestic races.

  • Listed races

Listed races are not as prominent as Group races, they are a little bit beneath Group 3 races in popularity, prominence, and importance. However, all the same, penalty rules apply.

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

Create your website with
Get started